In Europe, Spanish is an official language of Spain, the country after which it is named and from which it originated.In Spain, this language is generally called español(Spanish) when contrasting it with languages of other countries, such as French and English, but it is called castellano (Castilian, the language of the Castile region) when contrasting it with other languages spoken in Spain, such as Galician, Basque, and Catalan.

Spanish is one of the six official languages of the United Nations, and it is used as an official language by the European Union, the Organization of American States, and the Union of South American Nations,among many other international organizations.

Spanish is also spoken by small communities in other European countries, such as the United Kingdom, France, Italy, and Germany. Spanish is an official language of the European Union.

In Switzerland which had a massive influx of Spanish migrants in the 20th century, Spanish is the native language of approx 2 % of the population.